My Favorite Elf on the Shelf Ideas

Merry Blogmas and welcome to Day 10 of the 12 Days of Christmas Extravaganza. We’ve had so much fun blogging about all things Christmas! Week 2 is only going to get better! We still have a Linky party to come as well as our 2nd giveaway TODAY. Check below for details.

unnamed

Here is the lowdown on the goodies for the 2nd giveaway:

The total value of all of the prizes is $364.72!!!

Including: (Click on the links to be taken to the etsy shops/stores)

Retro Metro Weekender from Thirty-One
1-Year Netflix Streaming 
5 Days of Shakeology
Freetoes (3 pairs)
Nookums Toy
Mermaid toy
Kids Bop CD
Five Christmas Penguins book
Twilight Buddie
Click on the image below to be taken to the Giveaway:
PicMonkey Collage1

You can check us out on Twitter. We will be using #merryblogmas!

You can also find all of our posts on Pinterest: 12 Days of Christmas 2014

***To preface this post, I want to let everyone know that I made the decision a few years ago to NOT buy the traditional Elf on the Shelf but to buy one from a local charity Toys for the Town. They hand out elves in the Christmas parade each year for $1. I have used and will continue to use their elves because of the special meaning and good cause! Any elf you use will be fine for your children.***

I have a confession. I genuinely like my elf on the shelf. I have another confession. I feel like a sell out for admitting it. I like to be original and fun and not too cliche. The truth is that the being a mom and having and elf on the shelf in 2014 is completely cliche. The elf is everywhere: Facebook Twitter, Pinterest. We talk about him at school, work, church, the grocery store, while shopping for presents, on the phone. We text about him. He is the “thing” right now. And he has divided all of Mommydom. Some love him and some hate him. And we criticize the opposition if they don’t feel the same way we do. So I’m going to say it loud and proud, “I’m here and I like My Elf.” And if you don’t like, well you can take that mistletoe and stick it… Just Kidding (Kid-Friendly post Lauren, KID-Friendly). Who Cares! Just stay with blackmailing only with St. Nick. Me and the Elf Mamas will use both.
We always start the “Elf” season on December 1 and welcome him with a North Pole Breakfast. In the past, I did this for actual breakfast and went all out, but since December 1 fell on a Monday and the kids are now in school, I decided to host a North Pole Breakfast for Supper after the elf arrived via chimney from the North Pole. Here are a few photos from our celebrations (ignore my dirty fireplace… we’ve used it a lot this year so far):

auth.aspx

WP_20141201_002

WP_20141201_006

WP_20141201_009

WP_20141201_011

I write down a list or a schedule for the elf so I’m not the mama throwing the elf in a stocking or waking up at the last minute to decide what the heck my elf is going to do that day. I love all of the elf ideas but I’m going to give you a list of some of my personal favorite Elf on the Shelf ideas for Christmas 2014.

1) Panty and Underwear Tree

2) Green Milk

3) Powdered Sugar Snow Angel

Digital Camera

4) Barbie Date

5) Selfies

Digital Camera

6) Hide and Seek

7) Goin Racing

WP_20141205_011

WP_20141205_012

8) The Elf Did My Homework

9) Shoe Train

WP_20141202_008

WP_20141202_010

10) Marshmallow Bath

 

If you need anymore ideas, here is a complete list of my Elf on the Shelf Game Plan.

PicMonkey Collage2

 

And for more Kid-Friendly Christmas ideas, check out the other 11 bloggers of the 12 Days of Christmas:

Girl on the Move

Motherhood and Merlot

The American Mama

Blooming in Bedlam

Lisa Kerr: Life, Chronicled

Inspired Housewife

Verified Mom

Mommy’s Bundle

STL Motherhood

Babies, Bloodhounds & Booze

Goofball Mommy

Leave a Reply

