Christmas Home Tour

Merry Blogmas and welcome to Day 8 of the 12 Days of Christmas Extravaganza. We’ve had so much fun blogging about all things Christmas! Week 2 is only going to get better! We still have a Linky party to come as well as our 2nd giveaway on Friday, December 12th. Stay tuned for more details!

unnamed

Also thanks to everyone who participated in our 1st Giveaway. If you still want to enter, click on the link below to do so!

PicMonkey Collage

 

You can check us out on Twitter. We will be using #merryblogmas!

You can also find all of our posts on Pinterest: 12 Days of Christmas 2014

 

When I was in high school, the Junior Civitan club would participate in holiday house tours sponsored by the local ladies civitan clubs. Families in the community would open up their homes for tours to raise money. The homes were always so gorgeous decorated with dozens of trees and every corner so intricately detailed with greenery and ribbons and bows and little bobbles that only are found in houses that have accumulated decorations for years and years. The houses smelled of gingerbread and pine needles and felt so warm and cozy. I always dreamed of having a Christmas house like those beautiful homes.

Well since then I’ve realized that decorating isn’t an overnight process. Decorations are built up over time. Years of buying and creating and finding all of the little things to make your home feel so special for the holidays. I’ve got a long way to go before I have a “holiday house,” but this year I finally feel like my home is warm and cozy just like the ones from my high school days.

I’m not ready for a Civitan tour, but today I would like to take you on my very own virtual holiday tour of my home.

Let’s start with the living room:

Digital Camera

I wanted to keep the living room simple with family ornaments and special trinkets that mean something to all of us.

Digital Camera

The kitchen is decorated with mostly homemade things or “gingerbread” ornaments. All of the ornaments that the kids make at school go on the kitchen tree.

Digital Camera

Digital Camera

Digital Camera

The girls’ tree is very girly with pink and purple sparkly ornaments. I always let them decorate the tree themselves.

Digital Camera

R has a small silver tinsel tree with dark blue ornaments for the Dallas Cowboys. Because the tree is too small for lights, I topped his dressers with a string so that his room can glow as well.

Digital Camera

I still have inches of house that aren’t decorated haha. I want to add a Nativity. I only have a small kids Nativity set right now but would love an adult version. The beauty of Christmas is collecting things every year to pull out the boxes as reminder of Christmases in the past. Maybe one day I will have a fully decorated, chic holiday home, but for now I love all of my decorations and the love that is felt in every tree, ornament, and figurine that adorns my home.

Ready to see some more decorations or need some decorating tips? Head on over to the other 11 bloggers of the 12 days of Christmas:

Girl on the Move

Motherhood and Merlot

The American Mama

Blooming in Bedlam

Lisa Kerr: Life, Chronicled

Inspired Housewife

Verified Mom

Mommy’s Bundle

STL Motherhood

Babies, Bloodhounds & Booze

Goofball Mommy

One thought on “Christmas Home Tour

Leave a Reply

