Thanksgiving Day Blessings: Youthful Glow

Today, believe it or not, I’m thankful for my youthful glow. Honestly, I feel like all of my glow is sucked out of me on a daily basis. Giving birth and raising children really does drain all of the youth out of you. I’m lucky if I EVER have the time (minus Mommy Mondays whooo whoooo) to take care of my skin. I do my best to exfoliate and lotion and dry brush and shave and repeat, but it is really hard to take the extra time. So many winters have been spent battling dry skin and hairy legs. Combine that with a lack of a tan and you can be certain that my skin isn’t very glowing October through March or April or whenever I manage to expose my whiteness to sunlight again. Regardless of my lack of skin care, I still have a youthful glow. Before you mark my contradiction, let me explain.

A few years ago, I was braving the pedi chair at the local salon and was sitting beside a lovely little old lady. You all know how I feel about pedicures, so I was a little embarrassed when I saw her glance towards the lower region of my body. I was dumbfounded when I heard her say, “Look at your beautiful legs! I wish my legs looked that good.” Lady are you kidding me? Are you wearing your glasses? I muttered a quick “Thank you” and sheepishly laughed. Amidst my cellulite paleness, where did this lady see beautiful? As I looked closely at the lovely lady treating herself to a pedicure, I realized that her legs were ridden with varicose and spider veins. Her legs were once very lovely and full and vivacious. Now her poor circulation and age were causing a blueness and brokenness to those legs. I looked back at my legs. They are beautiful. Not perfect, but they’re young and relatively healthy and beautiful. I’m thankful that despite hating my chunky legs sometimes, I still have my youthful glow, maybe not in comparison to my littles, but definitely in comparison to those legs who have lived long lives. I am truly blessed to have two legs that get me from place to place without much discomfort. Two legs that can run and jump and dance. Legs that can still manage to walk in high heels if needed. Legs that belong to a young woman who still has a full life ahead. Legs that can recover from slips and falls and can be toned and tanned with a little work. I’m thankful for these beautiful legs.

PicMonkey Collage

It is very important that we take care of our legs during the winter months. Below, I’ve linked up some of my favorite winter care pins from Pinterest for skin, hair, lips, and nails. The images are clickable, but the links are listed below each image:

 

 a1d09e986a9590aacd92041310922c93

Pin: 10 tips for Healthy Winter Skin

Site: Health Central

55dec9bd67d31f4a5ce87d5e8432c689

Pin: Winter Cheeks Remedy

Site: One Good Thing by Jillee

892e0b464f7b4c51eb3644f2c68aec62

Pin: Winter Pedicure

Site: Beautylish

adf7c87a43dd4db30cc9e6afac6a33de

Pin: Hydrating Foods

Site: Positive Med

c155e0e31dccce2814850ee9006d7bc7

Pin: Warming Salve

Site: One Good Thing by Jillee

ca7257e5e2bc7a840f9fc3962a8e7776

Pin: Dry Skin Balm

Site: Simple Words for a Simple Life

d752b485ec11c0c563dd8a18676b6947

Pin: Orange and Coconut Oil Body Butter

Site: Hello Natural

d692584a654e1677b7d3a552d3ab9ec5

Pin: Home Remedies for Winter Skin

Site: Yumi Sakugawa

e42cf3ee60cd8065e8071488d2b78a03

Pin: Honey Cinnamon Nutmeg Face Mask

Site: Liz Marie Blog

Beauty portrait (medium format image 60 megapixels)
Pin: DIY Remedy for Dry Lips

Site: Makeup.com

4 thoughts on “Thanksgiving Day Blessings: Youthful Glow

Leave a Reply

