Thanksgiving Day Blessings: Indian Corn Decorations and Vegetable Soup Recipe

I am thankful for corn. I am thankful for all types of vegetables and fruits actually. I am thankful for farmers who grow crops for us to consume. I am thankful for my Papa’s garden and canned and frozen vegetables that get us through the winter months. I am thankful for the warmth and goodness of a plate of vegetables or a bowl of vegetable soup.

528102_10100362987966298_1340190157_n

One of my favorite vegetable soup recipes is the Creamy Vegetable Soup recipe from Dolly Parton’s Dixie Stampede. The soup is SOOOOOOO delicious. I seriously could eat it all of the time. I found a pin on Pinterest that recreates the recipe. The link is below:

Pin: Dixie Stampede Creamy Vegetable Soup

Website: Pigeon Forge TN Guide

I also love my mom’s version of regular vegetable beef soup. It’s so simple! You just brown some beef, throw in leftover, canned, or frozen vegetables and some tomato juice and sauce. It’s the best. As long as you leave out the green peas. Yuck!

If you want a more detailed recipe, I found a pin and site:

Pin: Vegetable Beef Soup

Website: A Homemaker’s Journal

I also love decorating with Indian corn. I’ve seen so many pins of wreaths and vases using Indian corn. There is something very traditional and special about it that I adore. I’ve linked up a few ideas and pins below:

Pin: Indian Corn Wreath

Website: Better Homes and Gardens

Pin: Indian Corn Centerpiece

Website: Your Cozy Home

Pin: Indian Corn Door Hanging

Website: The Basics Magazine

auth.aspx

I decided that the wreath was a little too much for me, so I went with the door hanging for my front door. I think it is adorable and super easy. The site gives fairly good instructions on how to make your own. Check back tomorrow to see all of my decorations and remodeling that I have done so far on my new house. I’m still chomping at the bits to put up my Christmas decorations, so I’m keeping Thanksgiving things to a minimum. I guess it’s just in my blood. If you saw my mom’s house at Christmas you would understand.

2 thoughts on “Thanksgiving Day Blessings: Indian Corn Decorations and Vegetable Soup Recipe

Leave a Reply

