Thanksgiving Day Blessings: Independence

Call it stubbornness, pigheadedness, bossy, A-type personality, being a witch with a b, or whatever you want, today I am thankful I am an independent woman.

I learned very early in life that you MUST do things for yourself. I have wonderful parents that taught me to fend for myself. Now I’m not saying that I had a job at 10 years old, but I was given life skills that many children today simply do not have. I knew how to do laundry (the right way by separating whites from colors), do the dishes, clean up after myself, cook, and even the basics of car care and sewing. My parents and grandparents knew that I needed to have the skills to be able to live independently.

One of the reasons that I love Pinterest is because it is teaching a generation to DIY instead of just buying everything online or at the store. But I’m not relying on Pinterest to teach my kids, I’m doing the teaching. I teach them how to fold clothes, clean up, sweep, unload the dishwasher, feed the animals. They watch me cook and clean and sew. Sometimes I have to MAKE them STOP helping me (boy I really hope at 16 they are as eager to do the dishes). I also let them play. Simply play. I don’t organize activities, I send them to their room or take them outside and they play. And it isn’t with an Ipad or a video game. I want my girls to be self-reliant and be able to live, think, and play on their own.

10329313_10101161858822698_5170325298415715852_n

I am also very thankful that we live in a country that allows us to be independent. I am thankful that I was able to leave a situation that wasn’t good for my kids and I and be a single mom. Single Moming it is definitely not ideal or easy, but it was better than the place I was in and I thank God everyday for giving me the strength and courage to overcome my pride and get away from a bad relationship.

We live in a country that teaches its citizens that we are entitled to a certain life. We no longer have to work hard for what we have. Now this isn’t a commentary on politics or government assistance, but it is true that so many would rather be handed what they should earn. This isn’t limited to monetary assistance. Kids rely on their parents to do their homework or get them out of a tough situation. I read an article about how we should let our children fail when they are little so they are able to handle failure at 30. It is your own responsibility to teach your children that they must work hard and become independent and it is an injustice to do everything for them.

1173872_10100807616053048_498244875_n

Encourage your children to live independently by teaching them important life skills that they will use as adults. Let them be little, but raise them up to be responsible, self-thinking adults. I am thankful for parents who taught me to be independent and for little ones who will be independent themselves.

4 thoughts on “Thanksgiving Day Blessings: Independence

  1. Yes! I am so with you on this. On teaching them skills when they are younger (my mom taught me at a pretty young age how to do laundry as well!) and how to play on their own without adult assistance. Beautiful post!

    Like

  2. I always wonder if I am letting my kids ‘fall’ enough.. since I tend to help them out with everything. Now that my son is in first grade there are things that are out of my control that happen at school, so I am learning to let go a bit. 😉 (btw.. your girls are too freaking cute!)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

