Halloween Kiddie Snacks: Oreo Dirt Pudding Parfaits

My family loves some dirt pudding. I remember when I was little, I had an aunt who would bring dirt pudding to family events. She put it in a sand bucket and topped it with some gummy worms. Some of you may be questioning the sanity of my family. Don’t worry, I do that daily. But relax… we don’t eat dirt. It’s pudding mixed with whipped cream and Oreos. And crushed up Oreos look like dirt hence the name: Dirt Pudding. I did my own little take on the creation for Halloween, but I did find really fancy little treats on Pinterest. I know they’re fancy because they call them “parfaits” instead of “dirt pudding” or “dirt cake.” They must be from somewhere fancy like Charlotte. Here are the links to the pin and site:

Pin: Halloween Oreo Parfaits

Website: Frog Prince Paperie (so they’re royalty… see fancy)

I chose not to use the recipe specifically because they used “non-pariels” or “nonpareils” which apparently are the little tiny sugar balls that bakers use for cakes and cookies (I had to google it). So I stuck to my roots and make a dirt pudding with Halloween Oreos instead.

auth.aspx

This dessert is so simple to make it’s embarrassing to put up directions. But I will for good measure.

Ingredients:

2 boxes of Instant Vanilla Pudding Mix

1 tub of whipped cream

1 package of Halloween Oreos

Milk

Directions:

First you whisk together the pudding mix and cold milk (4 cups I believe but the directions are on the box). You chill the pudding for 5-10 minutes. While waiting on the pudding, crush up some Oreos to your liking. I usually do two rows and leave the last row for the top. In a glass dish or plastic bowl or sand bucket if that’s your thing, spread a layer of cookie crumbles (about half of what you’ve crushed). Top the layer with half of the pudding then top that with half of the whipped cream. Repeat. On the top layer of whipped cream, sprinkle some more Oreo cookies or you can even top with with whole Oreos. And eat the heck out of it.

J told me not to make this again. He said it is too good, and it will interfere with his smoking hot physique. As for the youngins, they hands down approved!

Hope you all enjoy!

If you haven’t had a chance to enter the Spooky Halloween Letters Giveaway, you can do so by clicking the image below:

piccollage1

Also if you haven’t linked up to the Mommy Needs a Timeout Thursday linky party, there’s still time! You can link up below!

One thought on “Halloween Kiddie Snacks: Oreo Dirt Pudding Parfaits

Leave a Reply

