Football/Foodie Friday: Fantasy Football and Mini Shepherd’s Pot Pies

Are you ready for some football? I mean well I’ve been talking about football for a while now, but this is the first time I am going to talk about the NFL and my new “family tradition”: Fantasy Football. I feel like a may lose some of you non-sports nuts on this one, but hang on and I will get you back with the pot pies, I promise.
My sister set up a family fantasy football team through ESPN and so far… I’m kicking butt. We are making trades and trash talking. I even celebrated my birthday Sunday at Buffalo Wild Wings and watched the Niners whoop up on the Cowboys. We, of course, also were keeping up with our fantasy team too. My sister talked a mean game, but by Monday, she didn’t stand a chance.

10676348_10101320127735528_3117949860561298885_n

Now for the food! For today’s Foodie Friday “tailgate” I decided to try something different that isn’t typical tailgating food but is portable and easy and could be eaten in folding chairs, in stadiums, and on couches: Mini Shepherd’s Pot Pies. The links are below:

Pin: Mini Shepherd’s Pot Pies

Website: Tablespoon

J has been wanting to try Shepherd’s Pie ever since someone suggested it at work. Which was like a year ago… So when I saw the pin, I knew I had to try it. The basic concept of Shepherd’s pie reminds me of Paella. I’m guessing from the name and like its Spanish cousin, it is meant for the poor farmers and peasants of the fields. And I thought since they were mini that they might be an unconventional new tailgating food.

 I decided to use a large muffin tin, so they weren’t exactly mini or portable for a tailgate, but the regular or mini versions certainly would be. And they were very tasty. We topped them off with some Worcestershire sauce and served green beans, compliments of Papa’s garden, and a dessert of Krispy Kreme Pumpkin Spice Donuts. Absolutely delicious and definitely approved.

No football game tonight because of a yucky rainy day, but the warmth of supper makes me want to curl up and watch a movie anyways. And that’s just what I’m getting ready to do. Happy Friday!

4 thoughts on “Football/Foodie Friday: Fantasy Football and Mini Shepherd’s Pot Pies

Leave a Reply

