Football Friday/Foodie Friday: HS Team and Cheesy Chicken Enchiladas

Football is back! I love the smell of the grass broken up by cleats on the field, the scent of hotdogs and Gatorade, the roar of a crowd and beat of the percussion section, the shine of the lights reflecting off of helmets, and most of all the voice of my dad yelling on the sidelines at his boys on defense. Don’t get me wrong, I wear my red and gold and cheer my Niners on, but there’s nothing like being at a high school football game. As a coach’s kid, I was privileged to the inner workings of a team. As a side note, moms and dads give the coaches a break. You can barely get your teenage boy to get out of bed in the morning. They have to direct them on a football field where the atmosphere is tense and the pressure is high. Before you bad-mouth the man/woman volunteering his time (because he ain’t making much money believe that) to help your child, think at least of his children sitting in earshot. I’ve heard my share of trashing coaches, even my dad. Get to know the coach, or maybe what the heck you’re talking about, before you scream obscenities his way. Stepping down off of soapbox.

Now back to the show! As you can tell, my dad passed on his love of the game to his girls and J is passing on the love of the game to B & L. I love hearing them cheer and yell ”Go Bulldogs! Go Niners!” Not so much when they yell “Go Cowboys!”, yuck. Or last year when J bandwagoned to Florida St. for the National Championship game and L kept yelling “Go Cinnamon Rolls!”

 

Tonight, we went to see my High School football team play. We sat with friends and family and cheered, laughed, reminisced, ate skittles, melted (I don’t sweat), and watched the boys of Friday night. It was the best!

A friend of ours went with us and came over for supper beforehand. I made one of J’s favorite pin recipe experiments, Cheesy White Chicken Enchiladas. The recipe from the pin and site, Food Family & Finds, is below:

 Pin: Cheesy White Chicken Enchiladas

Website: Food Family & Finds

Y’all, Y’ALL. These are uh-mazing. Everything good about Mexican: the flavor, the spice, the creaminess, and everything good about comfort food: the heartiness, the warmth, the melted gooey goodness. All of these things are in this dish. J like really loves it. And it makes enough for him to eat and actually get full which, my friends, is a feat of great proportions. I paired the enchiladas with a quick salsa made with canned corn, black beans (both of those drained), and diced tomatoes (not drained). It felt like our own little tailgate and the end to a perfect last Friday off with the girls! Of course combined with the shopping we did earlier! This pin is hold on… He’s at the 30, the 20, the 10… TOUCHDOWN ENCHILAAAAADAS! Enjoy your family, friends, food, and football! I definitely see football and food combining on Fridays often so stay tuned for tailgating and fan favorites this season.

4 thoughts on “Football Friday/Foodie Friday: HS Team and Cheesy Chicken Enchiladas

  1. Thanks so much for linking up with me! 🙂 Your post really made me want to get back to my high school and watch some football.. I can’t remember the last time I’ve been to a H.S. game. My husband hopes to coach it one day and I so hope he does. I miss it! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

