Sunday Funday: Nautical Wreath

Something I truly, honestly love doing is decorating and maintaining my house. I love to come home to order and beauty and want my family to be able to as well. I consciously make it a point to keep my house clean daily. My house is lived in but orderly. And if you are not the type that cleans or likes decorating, you will burn in the fiery pits of hell for all of eternity. Just kidding. You roll how you want to roll. As long as your home is happy that’s what matters. My home and family (all of us maybe with the exception of L… She is a little bit of a free spirit. She went to sleep with toys, clothes, books, and 75,000 stuffed animals on her bed the other night) function happily in a clean house.

I am in the process of renovating a house that I love. It has big rooms, a good sized yard, huge laundry room and back deck, and a full wall of fireplace and brick in the living room. I have a love/hate relationship with the wall. It is beautiful but makes arranging the furniture impossible. Everyone has said “mount the TV above the fireplace.” I cannot bring myself to do it because I love decorating my mantle with the seasons. For the summer I have decided to go with a really classic Nautical theme. I found lots of ideas including the two below:

Pin: Nautical Wreath

Which linked to this picture

Pin: Mantle

Website: Craftaholics Anonymous

I was going to make a nautical wreath for the front door but liked the wreath I made on Thursday way too much to put it on the back door. So I decided to make a smaller wreath and prop it on the mantle like in the second pin. Here are pictures of my wreath and the mantle:

 

 

I really didn’t plan it out too well because some of the sections are uneven but the rest of the mantle looks a little “rustic,” the word I use when it looks like I DIY’d it, so it is fine. Also these yarn wreaths take a while to do because you are literally wrapping yarn around the wreath hundreds of times. But the finished product is worth it. Both pins are approved.

Now to enjoy my Sunday evening with fruit popsicles, Monsters University, and my girls. Happy Sunday.

2 thoughts on “Sunday Funday: Nautical Wreath

  1. Love the theme you chose, bright & cheerful! I have the same issue with our fireplace so I can relate 🙂
    My first visit to your blog, lovin’ it! Look forward to visiting again.
    Have a beautiful week 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

