Foodie Friday: Peach, Arugula, and White Cheddar Grilled Cheese with Homemade Baked French Fries

Today’s pin is from Carrie’s Culinary Creations: Peach, Arugula, and White Cheddar Grilled Cheese. I found Carrie’s recipe for Homemade Baked French Fries on a link on the pin.

The pin: Peach, Arugula, and White Cheddar Grilled Cheese

And Carrie’s Site: Carrie’s Culinary Creations

 

I started out with the fries. I’m lying. I started slicing peaches and quickly realized I should probably do the fries first because they have to bake… The recipe calls for 2 large russet potatoes, peeled. Crap I literally just now read the word peeled. However, Carrie didn’t peel hers in the photo so we’re good. (I doubled the recipe but 2 would’ve been plenty. I have a gene that runs on my Nanny’s side of the family that makes us make too much food. It’s a disease really). You are supposed to cut them into 1/3 inch fries. I just know there is a 58 year old woman in Idaho who is saying to herself, “clearly those are 1/4 inch fries. She is an idiot.” Well let me assure you Susan, may I call you Suzy, I used my tape measure and all are perfectly 1/3 inch. Just kidding. Who would do that? Heh. Heh.

 

After I wiped the potato juice off my tape measure, I put the fries in the cold water and dried them off. This was weird to me but I guessed it was an advanced culinary way to freshen up the potatoes or what not and the drying was because water and oil clearly do not mix. I underestimated the absorbency of my paper towels and ended up drying them off “dishes” style. There are other steps so make sure to check out the link.

 

I used 2 different pans because I wanted to test the baking times for each color of pan. Or maybe they all didn’t fit in one pan. So in the oven they went. I then started on my sandwiches after a brief pause to play the blood inspection game: “L hit me in the nose.” “Are you bleeding?” “Yes!” “Where?” “I’m not bleeding but she hit me in the nose like this *punches self in nose*.” Now you’ve been double-punched B, excuse me if I don’t have sympathy for you.

 

I used a few different things almost entirely because Aldis didn’t have exactly the thing I needed. They didn’t have arugula (no clue but I think it’s fancy lettuce/spinach so I bought Artisan lettuce which to me means fancy lettuce) and I used Monterrey jack because um it’s good, And though I like Aldis because my $200 a week grocery bill shrunk to like $80, I am now not so much a fan of their sack of peaches. Oh well no turning back advance advance.

 

I grilled my cheese and called/yelled to the kids to wash up for lunch then yelled again as the turned my TV to the reggaeton Sirius station and then the tasting began. R said he liked it but he says that about all of my food (kindred spirits). L took the cheese off of the bread (apparently I didn’t grill that one enough. Whoops) and B ate the fancy lettuce “salad.” So success.

Personally I think it would be better grilled in the oven. Better peaches next time will also help. It was a good grilled cheese though.

Then we waited for the fries which were still in the oven of course. I attempted to turn the fries but quickly saw they were sticking to the pan. Next time I will use foil but they were delish!! A very easy, fresh lunch that beats the heck out of fast food. So for this pin the verdict is: approved! Now to figure out who Ella is because it seems she is locking herself in the girls’ room. ??? Happy Friday. Teachers join me tomorrow for Schoolhouse Saturday.

 

Leave a Reply

